About Firefox's bookmarks , Sandboxie 2.79

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Unknown_User_659
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

About Firefox's bookmarks , Sandboxie 2.79

Post by Unknown_User_659 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:27 am

I am glad you made this feature.

A few questions about the configuration.
I had in the 'Set File Copy options...' ticked the last 2 boxes, Thunderbird to it's mail and Firefox to the bookmarklets.
Thunderbird works I think as expected, any new email gets copied to the original TB profile mail boxes.

Question is. I made in the sandboxed Firefox a few new bookmarks. Then closed it. Restarted Firefox again in the sandbox. It had not remembered the new bookmarks, but copied all from the original FF bookmarks. Not the behaviour I was expecting !!! Those original bookmarks were left untouched, meaning not updated as I thought ???
I had to untick 'Allow Mozilla Firefox full access to bookmark file'.

I did got the feature working as I wanted by going to Set Automatic Clean-Up Options and ticking Firefox profiles there. To me it should not matter if I close the Firefox, since that 'Automatically Delete Contents of Sandbox' is unticked. To loose the sandboxed Firefox's bookmarks since they should remain in there until manually or by that check box option unticked.

Works anyways by now as I want it and that feature was missing in 2.64.
It works this way, I have to delete the sandbox manually and then I get asked what files to recover and can choose also bookmarks.html.

The real time bookmark update from the sandboxed ones to original profile bookmarks seems not be working yet though.
This is a Finnish language Firefox browser the above comments applied.


Jarmo

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:34 pm

Did you delete the contents of the sandbox, before marking new bookmarks?

This is working fine for me, I hope more people can share their experience?
tzuk

Unknown_User_659
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Unknown_User_659 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:36 pm

If I remember right. First uninstalled 2.64 and then installed 2.79 and I hope Processguard free was disabled. There could be something in it. I remember that a few reboots in learning mode were necessary before I could log to my admin and limited XP Home user accounts, switch from one to another.

Now it works like this, the bookmarks. I have not ticked that 'Allow Mozilla Firefox full access to bookmark file' but have ticked that 'FireFox Profiles' (actually all 4 of them).
I can use 'Recover Files' from systray pizza slice to have the real boomarks file updated to sandboxed one. Or I can also delete Sandbox contents and use that quick recovery thing.

But the automatic synchronization does not really work for sandboxed/real bookmarks.
Maybe I should uninstall, might be just my system, but as everything else seems to work so well, I feel a bit lazy. If I do that uninstall/install I will post some more if the experience is different.

Best wishes,
Jarmo

MikeH
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:23 pm

Post by MikeH » Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:47 pm

Tzuk:

The Firefox bookmark feature is not working for me as well. I checked allow mozilla firefox full access to the bookmarks folder (recommended) under set file copy options... The results that I get are not consistent, however I can give you an example:

Operned firefox sandboxed.
Added 4 new bookmarks to the boolmark folder.
Deleted all 4 of the added bookmarks.
Closed the sandboxed firefox without deleting the contents of the sandboxed folder.
Opened firefox sandboxed.
2/4 of the deleted bookmarks reappear.

As I said the results are not consistent. I did the above with version 2.79.2. I had the same sort of problem with version 2.79.1. Sometimes the bookmark sync will work and sometimes it won't.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:18 am

Thanks, got it. More experimenting showed the problem happens because Firefox is occasionally renaming the bookmark file.

This means opening (via OpenFilePath) the bookmark file is not enough; the directory itself has to be opened as well.

To fix, you can wait for the next beta, or even now, make the following corrections in Sandboxie.ini:

OpenFilePath=firefox.exe,%AppData%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\*.default
OpenFilePath=firefox.exe,%AppData%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\*.default\bookmark*

Note another change: bookmark* instead of bookmarks* .

Another note for the curious: the first line opens only the directory. Not the directory and everything below it. This is because OpenFilePath in version 2.7x does not append a final asterisk *, if the pattern already contains an asterisk anywhere.
tzuk

Johnincal
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:53 pm

Post by Johnincal » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:40 pm

There is an unpatched security issue with bookmarklets in FireFox. The issue comes from FireFox should not, but does bookmark data:
http://nvd.nist.gov/nvd.cfm?cvename=CVE-2007-1084

Does this apply here? Would this be a security risk until it is patched?
Last edited by Johnincal on Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:54 pm

Would this be a security risk until it is patched?
I guess yes, it would be. But if you run Firefox sandboxed every time, then it shouldn't matter if your unsandboxed bookmarks.html contains data that is vulnerable to Firefox.
tzuk

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:13 pm

So does the bookmark setting now work fine? Anyone?
tzuk

Unknown_User_659
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Unknown_User_659 » Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:29 am

I installed on top of 2.79 the 2.79.4 version. And set the file copy option to bookmarks. Seems it works now.

But:
There is one thing. When i add a bookmark to my bookmarks bar for a sandboxed Firefox 2.0.0.2 and then close it. And then open unsandboxed firefox, I do get a prompt that "there was a previous session unclosed and if i want to restart that session or start a new session". That translated from finnish, but I think you get the meaning about what prompt I am talking about.
Anyways bookmarks are now in synch.

EDIT
I also wrote the above in the sandboxed FF and then closed it. When I opened "normal" Firefox, I got the above prompt and when I answered to use the same session, it also opened the Firefox to Sandboxie forum to my post.

I am quite happy with just being able to "recover" the bookmarks so I will disable that "file copy" option. One of the reasons I run Firefox sandboxed is that I won't get corrupted FF profile since my old computer is quite unstable (sudden freeze running Skype etc. needing a cold reboot). So if this synch makes this protection weaker, I don't care about the automatic synchronization that much.
Jarmo

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:46 am

Yeah, I get that fake crash too... It must be due to the recent addition:

OpenFilePath=firefox.exe,...\Profiles\*.default

I'll have to think about this for a bit.
tzuk

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Sun Mar 11, 2007 4:26 pm

Alright, I fixed this. Again :) Please try with version 2.79.5. Make sure to un-check then re-check that Firefox option.
tzuk

OwenBurnett
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:36 am

Post by OwenBurnett » Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:04 am

Sry for the other thread,

about the problem, if i get it right the problem occured when FF uses filemove than when the source file was sb'xed the target was to even if the particular path is open.

Is it now fixed in generally, or only for FF?

Owen

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:09 pm

Fixed in general, as this was a general problem with renaming files in paths that match OpenFilePath settings. Very little of Sandboxie is application specific.

The problem was this. For a successful rename for a file that maches an OpenFilePath, you would have to have OpenFilePath that match both the file itself, and its parent folder.

So at the top of this topic we had OpenFilePath only for bookmarks.html, not for the folder, and this created some problems.

Then we had an OpenFilePath for bookmarks*, and for the parent folder, and this was working well... Except that now, renaming OTHER files in the same folder would have problems, because only the parent folder matches an OpenFilePath.

Hopefully this last fix gets things right.
tzuk

llarue

bookmarks problems in FF basically solved

Post by llarue » Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:51 am

just get the Foxmarks extension and sych while sandboxed! It works.

Unknown_User_659
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Unknown_User_659 » Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:18 am

Sounds good.
I myself have problems with my new machine a few days ago, vibrating cooling fans, preinstalled programs for CD burning calling to Korea and asking me that language install, Everest censors not showing CPU temp, fan speed etc.
To limit any uncertainty, I am back using 2.64. Will try Sandboxie the betas again soon since they caused me no problems.

Best wishes, Jarmo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests