Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
yabbadoo
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by yabbadoo » Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:29 pm

I downloaded Opera and made it my default browser. I then downloaded Sandboxie, configured it and an icon was placed on my desktop.
When I clicked the Sandboxie icon to open my browser, all I got was a white screen.
An alert said that Sandboxie was loading but it never completed, just went on forever.

Never had any trouble years ago with the same on XP. Went like a dream.

Please advise what may be going wrong.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: New PC Windows 10/Opera/Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:45 am

Hi yabbadoo,

Please, follow the guidelines to provide all the required info so that we can assist you:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746


Regards,
Barb.-

yabbadoo
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: New PC Windows 10/Opera/Sandboxie

Post by yabbadoo » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:58 am

@Barb@Invincia

Here is all the data I can give -

Sandboxie 64 bit version = 5.27.2.0 created 05/12/18
Opera browser version = 57.0.3098.76
Windows 10 - 64 bit version 1803 OS build 17134.441
Anti-virus = McAfee

Simply installed Opera
Simply installed Sandboxie
When finished, clicked Sandboxie icon.
White screen appeared and note saying default box was loading.
The red border I configured was present around the white screen.
The default box stuck frozen at loading and never stopped.
Killed it.
Last edited by yabbadoo on Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: New PC Windows 10/Opera/Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:15 am

Hi yabbadoo ,

Thanks for the info. Looks like the latest Opera update 57 is causing the problem.

Please, follow these steps:
viewtopic.php?p=133439#p133439

Regards,
Barb.-

yabbadoo
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by yabbadoo » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:38 pm

@ Barb@Invincea

I added "no sandbox" to the target line in Opera preferences - it made no difference.

The problem is Opera. Reason ? Because Chrome and Firefox work instantly with Sandboxie in seconds.

So until Opera sort this bug out, all Opera users with Windows 10 will have to find another default browser if they wish to use Sandboxie.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:05 am

Hi yabbadoo ,

I tested the steps before sending them to you. They worked for me. Please, keep in mind that what you are adding is "-no-sandbox " ,the dashes are important.
If you can send me a screenshot of your changes, I will be happy to review them.

If there's anything else that may be in place, please let me know so that I can add it to the testing scenario.

Regards,
Barb.-

yabbadoo
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by yabbadoo » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:07 pm

Here are the two panels, one before adding the "-no-sandbox" and the other after it was added.
I tried to open Opera via the Sandboxie icon on my desktop, but no change - just a white screen like before the change.

1. As normal -
Image

2. With "-no-sandbox" added -
Image
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Curt@invincea
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Posts: 1661
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by Curt@invincea » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:02 pm

There are 2 dashes at the beginning.

--no-sandbox

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:51 am

All,

I re-tested based on the comments, and it works for me with one dash, just like in the linked post.
I also tested 2 dashes, and it worked as well.

yabbadoo , please, let us know if 2 dashes made the difference, and I will edit the previously provided post, as this may affect others.

Did you delete the contents of your Sandbox, prior to re-launching the browser? If not, please do that, and/or create a new Sandbox with default settings.

Regards,
Barb.-

yabbadoo
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by yabbadoo » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:35 pm

I have found the ideal solution -

Life is good again. Sandboxie opens Chrome like a bullet. No problems.
A very sad RIP to a beloved old friend after many years of close companionship - bye, bye Opera.
Perhaps in the distant future I will check Opera again, but Chrome is a magnificent browser, very much like Opera in many ways.

I have used Chrome in the past as my default browser and only changed to Opera because Chrome dumped support for XP. No support problems now with Windows 10.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Red.Dwarf
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:58 am

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by Red.Dwarf » Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:34 am

I have started having problems running Opera inside a sandbox just like others.
I am usingImage Opera 57.0.3098.91 and I have tried the --no-sandbox & -no-sandbox with no resolution. I am running Windows 7 SP1 x64. It is showing SBIE2224 Sandboxed program has crashed: opera.exe [op]


I did delete the sandbox contents and also created a new sandbox with no improvement.

Is there anything else that I can do to get this working?
Attachments
Opera Shortcut Properties.jpg
Opera Shortcut Properties.jpg (32.42 KiB) Viewed 42 times
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Intel Core i7-3770K stock speed
Asus P8Z77-V Premium with 2x8GB Crucial + 2x4GB 1600MHz Samsung Green memory
5 Hard drives 250,250,500,500,1000 & Asus/Intel SSD Caching of system drive

yabbadoo
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by yabbadoo » Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:18 am

No matter about Opera. I have made Chrome my default browser and am getting on just fine using Sandboxie.
Chrome and Opera are very similar browsers, I will keep with Chrome.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Opera 57 not launching sandboxed - [Use -no-sandbox as workaround]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:09 am

Hi Red.Dwarf,

I just updated Opera to version 57 on my Win 7 x64 VM + Sandboxie latest beta 5.27.2, then launched it Sandboxed. I did not experience any issues, I did not have to make changes at all.
We need the required info so that I can set up a similar scenario for testing : viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Are you using any antivirus software? (which one, and what's the version).
Are you using any specific extensions?
Does Opera launch fine outside Sandboxie?
How are you reproducing the problem?

Please post your Sandboxie config file so that I can have a look:
Configure--Edit configuration
Copy/paste the entire contents here, then highlight them and click the "</>" button to format them.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests