Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

eneerge
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:57 pm
Location: Oxford, MS
Contact:

Re: 5.21 Beta Available

Post by eneerge » Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:32 am

I'm unable to get Firefox 55 to work at all in 5.20 or 5.21.2 beta. It will not pull up any webpage, it just remains a blank, white area.

In my case, Firefox is installed inside the Sandbox.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:56 pm

Hello eneerge ,

I have moved your post as it is not beta related.
Please provide this info so that I can test the behavior:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Regards,
Barb.-

johndoe2015
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by johndoe2015 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:19 am

Hello, Barb@Invincea!

I can also confirm problems with Firefox since its latest big update which also changed the installer.
After installing FF into sandbox it displays a blank window with a single New Tab opened, no matter how many tabs I try to open. When I close the browser, however, it reports the correct number of tabs in close multiple tabs confirmation window. No SBIE errors pop up.

Win 8.1 x64 (up-to-date)
Sandboxie 5.20 x64
Latest Firefox version (installer from the official website)
no other software or AVs installed

Please, let me know if you need some additional info.

Regards

johndoe2015
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by johndoe2015 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:29 am

Oh, and I seem to have found a workaround for Tor browser. It randomly crashes when installed into recovery folders, i.e. Downloads and Desktop. When installing it, say, into .../User/, instead of .../User/Desktop by default, it works like a charm.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:00 pm

Hello johndoe2015,

I installed Firefox in a new Sandbox and tried to launch it, got the blank tabs without being able to use it except for about:config (I tested several combinations with multiprocess and Firefox sandbox but nothing worked).
I then navigated the the installation location and dragged firefox.exe to my default Sandbox instead...and it launched fine. It seems -so far- that it works on every Sandbox except for the one I installed it under.

I'll post an update if anything new comes up.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests