Trust No Program

Latest Chrome Portable Flash does not work in sandbox

Please post your problem description here

Latest Chrome Portable Flash does not work in sandbox

Postby ifhyokqc » Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:47 am

Hi, I tried this on both the latest Sandboxie 3.64 and the latest beta version 3.65.03 (32-bit).

Installed fresh Chrome Portable in default sandbox. (http://downloads.sourceforge.net/portableapps/GoogleChromePortable_17.0.963.65_online.paf.exe).

Go to youtube or any flash site.

You get a dropdown error: The following plug-in has crashed: Shockwave Flash.

The previous version of Chrome Portable 17.0.963.56 worked fine and did not have any issues.

Thx.
ifhyokqc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:36 am

Postby tzuk » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:48 pm

Thank you for the problem report. I will take a look and post an update in a few days.
tzuk
tzuk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby Guest10 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:38 pm

I installed the Chrome Portable version in a sandbox, and Flash works OK for me on XP at YouTube and the Adobe Flash test page.
Chrome 17.0.963.65
Paul
XP Pro SP3 (Admin), Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, Malwarebytes Pro, Firefox 31, Thunderbird 31
Guest10
 
Posts: 4812
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby tzuk » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:58 pm

Thanks for checking Guest10.

ifhyokqc which version of Windows do you use?
tzuk
tzuk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby ifhokqc » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:20 am

Hi tzuk,

I am on Vista and also tested on Windows 2008.
ifhokqc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:18 am

Postby offthegrid » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:21 am

I've got the same problem with the latest Chrome 17.0.963.66 It downloads as 'new_chrome.exe' in the program folder with the user data in the same place. I've got everything in the user data folder allowed and still no flash but it's there w/o Sandboxie. I'm not sure where the built in flash plugin is located which is half the problem.
offthegrid
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:26 pm

Chrome Shockwave Flash Plug-in crashes with Sandboxie

Postby Osaban » Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:08 am

Same here, Chrome Shockwave Flash Plug-in crashes with Sandboxie, it started on March 7.
Chrome version 17.0.963.66 m, Sandboxie 3.64, Vista Ultimate 32 bit.
Osaban
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:07 am

Postby tzuk » Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:22 pm

offthegrid mentioned the EXE name is new_chrome.exe.

If you rename this to chrome.exe when you use the beta version of Sandboxie 3.65.04, does this fix the problem?
tzuk
tzuk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby Guest10 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:30 pm

I don't understand the reference to a file named "new_chrome.exe". I see nothing like that when I install the downloaded file into a sandbox on XP.
I re-installed "GoogleChromePortable_17.0.963.65_online.paf.exe" in a sandbox and then installed over top of it: "GoogleChromePortable_17.0.963.66_online.paf.exe

These are versions from PortableApps.com, and both of them give me an executable program called: "GoogleChromePortable.exe"

So I run the "GoogleChromePortable.exe" file to start the program.
I have no problem with videos at YouTube.

As far as the Flash plugin is concerned:
[Edit] In Chrome use the Wrench > Options > Under the Hood > "Content Settings..." button > Plug-ins > "Disable individual plug-ins" > click the "[+] Details" button on the right side of the window.

Remember though: This is a relative location for the plug-in file because the program doesn't know that it's installed inside of a sandbox.
Also, the exact path shown here depends on what path you used when you installed the program in a sandbox.
I used on XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\(user)\Local Settings\Application Data\GoogleChromePortable
So, on XP the path that Chrome shows for me is:
C:\Documents and Settings\(user)\Local Settings\Application Data\GoogleChromePortable\App\Chrome-bin\17.0.963.66\gcswf32.dll
Using my install path in the sandbox, the actual path to the sandboxed Flash plug-in file (using an unsandboxed Windows Explorer), would be:
C:\Sandbox\(user)\(sandbox name)\user\current\Local Settings\Application Data\GoogleChromePortable\App\Chrome-bin\17.0.963.66\gcswf32.dll
Your path will vary, depending on what path you chose for the "GoggleChromePortable" folder.
[/Edit]
----
The only problem that I encountered when I first installed the app was that it wouldn't run from a 'Program Files' folder in the sandbox, like:
"C:\Program Files\GoogleChromePortable"
which in the sandbox would be:
C:\Sandbox\(user)\(sandbox name)\drive\C\Program Files\GoogleChromePortable

So I installed it at the same directory level as regular Chrome uses:
C:\Documents and Settings\(user)\Local Settings\Application Data\GoogleChromePortable
(%Local Appdata%\GoogleChromePortable)
(C:\Users\(user)\AppData\Local\GoogleChromePortable)

It also worked for me when installed in the sandbox at:
C:\GoogleChromePortable
Paul
XP Pro SP3 (Admin), Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, Malwarebytes Pro, Firefox 31, Thunderbird 31
Guest10
 
Posts: 4812
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby Osaban » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:37 am

Thanks for the suggestions, but for some weird reasons today everything is back to normal without having done anything!
Osaban
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:07 am

Postby D1G1T@L » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:41 pm

It seems your version of google chrome auto updated to version 17.0.963.78 m. In my case the problem was gone with the update.
One Program to rule them all, One Program to confine them, One Program to wrest them all and in the sandbox bind them.
D1G1T@L
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:40 am
Location: DefaultBox

Postby Osaban » Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:30 am

Indeed the problem had to do more with Chrome than Sandboxie it self.
Osaban
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:07 am


Return to Problem Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests