Trust No Program

Automatically Delete Contents of Sandbox - Not working?

Please post your problem description here

Automatically Delete Contents of Sandbox - Not working?

Postby Jason » Sun Jul 22, 2007 2:17 pm

I am a registered user of Sandboxie 3.0.

I notice that sometimes the contents of Sandbox are not emptied (even though the option "Automatically Delete Contents of Sandbox" is checked) when I exit Opera 9.22 (latest built 8801) after browsing.

May I know how to resolve?

Thank you for your assistance.
Jason
 

Postby SnDPhoenix » Sun Jul 22, 2007 4:36 pm

Hmm, does it work fine if you manually delete the contents by right clicking the sandboxie tray icon and goto "Contents of Sandbox" > "Delete Contents", the reason i ask is because i just want to find out first if its a problem only with Automatic Delete, or with Deleting the contents both ways.
Windows 7 SP1 x64, Sandboxie v3.70 x64 with Experimental Protection, GnuPG, OTR (Off-The-Record), Sticky Password, My Brain.
SnDPhoenix
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Postby Jason » Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:46 am

Hello SnDPhoenix,

Thank you for the response.

There is no problem doing a manual deletion when this occurs.

As I mentioned in my earlier post, this issue happens intermittently.

Cheers
Jason
Jason
 

Postby wraithdu » Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:50 am

Is there a chance that when this happens Opera isn't actually closing? If you check Sandboxie control and Task Manager, do you see Opera still there?
wraithdu
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:54 pm

Postby SnDPhoenix » Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:35 am

Yeah, its true, Opera might be lingering, if thats the case then you'll have to just add Opera to your ini as a linger process.
Windows 7 SP1 x64, Sandboxie v3.70 x64 with Experimental Protection, GnuPG, OTR (Off-The-Record), Sticky Password, My Brain.
SnDPhoenix
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Postby Jason » Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:27 pm

wraithdu wrote:Is there a chance that when this happens Opera isn't actually closing? If you check Sandboxie control and Task Manager, do you see Opera still there?


SnDPhoenix wrote:Yeah, its true, Opera might be lingering, if thats the case then you'll have to just add Opera to your ini as a linger process.


I have had another occurence, & I can confirm that there was no lingering process (be it in the Sandboxie control or Task Manager). :cry:

How to add Opera to ini as a linger process? :oops:
Jason
 

Postby SnDPhoenix » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:25 pm

How to add Opera to ini as a linger process?

Just open sandboxie control, click "Configuration" > "Edit Configuration" and then add into the ini:
LingerProcess=opera.exe

But if Opera isnt lingering (as you say it isnt) then adding that to the ini isnt gonna do crap for Opera.....
Windows 7 SP1 x64, Sandboxie v3.70 x64 with Experimental Protection, GnuPG, OTR (Off-The-Record), Sticky Password, My Brain.
SnDPhoenix
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Postby Unknown_User_868 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:26 pm

just out of curiosity, wouldn't a linger process kill opera when it is the only process running in the sandbox? so that if you launch opera into the sandbox, and its the only program running, the sandbox will close it and shut down?
Unknown_User_868
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Postby Paul_K » Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:14 am

Lucus wrote:just out of curiosity, wouldn't a linger process kill opera when it is the only process running in the sandbox? so that if you launch opera into the sandbox, and its the only program running, the sandbox will close it and shut down?
No, LingerProcess doesn't work that way. Read about it HERE: "LingerProcess will not terminate a process, if that process was the first process launched in the sandbox."

Still, when you close Opera and then double-click the Sandboxie Control icon in the system tray, if you don't see anything related to opera listed, then adding it to the configuration file as a LingerProcess isn't going to do anything.

I also had a problem with the Auto Delete feature, in a previous version of Sandboxie.
In my case, I found that I had to save a file to a Recover folder and after Sandboxie asked me if I wanted to Recover it, Sandboxie would then delete the sandbox contents.
I reported my problem and then had to report back that the Auto Delete feature started working for me, and I didn't know why it had failed to work in the first place. It still works fine for me.
XP Pro SP3
Paul_K
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:35 pm

Postby tzuk » Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:20 pm

Sandboxie Control has to be running for the automatic delete to be triggered. Jason, are there times when you close (or don't even start) Sandboxie Control?
tzuk
tzuk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:57 pm


Return to Problem Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests