Trust No Program

box-selectable shell extension addon idea

Ideas for enhancements to the software

box-selectable shell extension addon idea

Postby Unknown_User_807 » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:32 am

*10-22-07 update - feature was added under the "Send To.." contextual menu in version 3.02.25. ty tzuk!

Well i've been doing this manually for a little while now, but just had an idea. would it be difficult to add on a new contextual sub-menu.. where you can

'Run Sandboxed in...
defaultbox
box2
box3
etc...'

i've been doing this lately for testing new software where i switch to a certain box to put one prog in it, then switch back for say.. the browser, and so on. for instance, i've been browsing torrent sites and such gathering a multitude of tabs with useful information, but now i want to visit meebo.com to IM my friend and install the new torrent, but want them all in seperate boxes... well anywho, the use isnt important, its just a timesaver from the no-slow-but-after-a-while-annoying method already in place. this is where i wish i knew ANY kind of programming or anythign that i could write the shell extension myself.. but c'est la vie
Last edited by Unknown_User_807 on Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:10 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Unknown_User_807
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Postby tzuk » Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:04 am

I deleted your poll because this feature is already there, although hidden.

You need to find the actual command for the shell extension, it's in the registry key

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\sandbox\command

The command by default is

"C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" "%1" %*

You need to change it to be:

"C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:current "%1" %*
tzuk
tzuk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby Unknown_User_807 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:17 am

hmm.. i was actually kind of referring to a dynamic solution that would be altered by what sandboxes you currently have (in the same format poweriso does as depicted below). but thanks, i'll find a way to make this work for now :)

Image
Unknown_User_807
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Postby Unknown_User_807 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:35 am

IE # 7.0.5730.11
SBIE # 2.93.09
XP Pro SP2 w/latest updates
Severity: none, just worth mentioning

found an interesting quirk. nothing big, but i think any bug is at least worth mentioning (and mentioned in this topic because im continuously scorned for creating new topics). it seems right clicking on Internet Explorer and selecting 'run sandboxed' while you have that reg key set to use a particular sandbox (even /box:defaultbox) causes IE to crash. any other method of running it works just fine, and as far as i experimented this only pertains to IE. thought it was a little odd. i have bug reports, but i imagine im the only one using this configuration and method and noone will care about this, so they'll probobly only become of use to my own curiosity.
Unknown_User_807
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Postby dlguild » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:30 pm

found an interesting quirk

LittleTortillaBoy, I can confirm the quirk. IE does crash for me when you right click and 'run sandboxed' if it is already set to automatically run sandboxed.

mentioned in this topic because im continuously scorned for creating new topics

:D To avoid being chastised, lets make this a new feature request. "Please eliminate this quirk in future releases". :D
dlguild
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:30 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby tzuk » Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:58 pm

I wasn't able to reproduce the quirk, and I even tried on two machines, WinXP+IE7 and Win2003+IE6. Sorry!

LittleTortillaBoy: The shell "extension" you now see is created by simply adding the registry key that I mentioned already. The "dynamic solution" requires writing a shell DLL, which I may do eventually, but probably not soon.
tzuk
tzuk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby Unknown_User_807 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:01 am

tzuk wrote:I wasn't able to reproduce the quirk

hmm, not sure whats different so i'll list my settings.

"forced program" to defaultbox
modified shell extension to 'run sandboxed' with /box:defaultbox
right click on start-menu (or quick-launch) shortcut for IE and click 'run sandboxed'

other than that and short of bug reports, i dont really have anything else to go on. like i said, severity is minor if at all as im probobly the only one using this particular configuration, but i thought it was atleast worth mentioning.

tzuk wrote:The "dynamic solution" requires writing a shell DLL

yeah, i kinda figured it would take a bit of extra programming, but i thought i'd just throw that into the ring for ideas for future additions :) i did find some programs that will let me build a submenu through their gui so i'll find a way to make the extensions you mentioned work for me. thanks! :D
Unknown_User_807
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Postby dlguild » Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:42 pm

LittleTortillaBoy wrote:found an interesting quirk. nothing big, but i think any bug is at least worth mentioning (and mentioned in this topic because im continuously scorned for creating new topics). it seems right clicking on Internet Explorer and selecting 'run sandboxed' while you have that reg key set to use a particular sandbox (even /box:defaultbox) causes IE to crash.

Version 2.94.17 resolved this quirk for me. I can now right click 'run sandboxed' on IE without it crashing. :D
dlguild
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:30 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby Unknown_User_807 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:45 am

dlguild wrote:Version 2.94.17 resolved this quirk for me. I can now right click 'run sandboxed' on IE without it crashing. :D


indeed .17 fixed it perfect. tzuk, you work wonders :lol: thanks!
Unknown_User_807
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests